At Northfields International School, we purposefully design and deliver curricula to bring forward essential learning experiences for all of our students. We have chosen academic programmes that resonate with our Mission Statement, which outlines our aims to empower our students to reach their full potential by offering learning opportunities that maximises their potential. We endeavour to achieve this by offering challenging and internationally recognised qualifications. With this in mind, at Northfields we offer the following:

Prep School- Years 5-8

In years 5-8, Northfields focuses on a programme that closely follows the National Curriculum of England and Wales. This gives our students an opportunity to study a broad and balanced range of subjects. Regular assessments are carried out during the Key Stage 2 and 3 programme, providing teachers and parents with the opportunity to assess and reflect on students’ progress.

The curriculum offered allows our students to follow a range of subjects, from the core subjects of English, Maths and Science, to History, Geography, Languages (French and Spanish), ICT, DT, Drama, Art and Physical Education. We also include a programme that delivers Personal, Social and Health Education.


Middle School- Years 9-11

The Year 9 programme prepares our students to make informed choices of subjects that they may wish to study at IGCSE and above, which may ultimately determine their career path.


Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most renowned international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide and is an international passport to progression and success. It was developed over 25 years ago and has been tried and tested by schools worldwide.

The objectives of Cambridge Assessment International Education(CAIE) IGCSE programme is to prepare students for life by enabling them to develop an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning. In adhering to this approach, we have strived to make our students confident, responsible, reflective, innovative and engaged individuals who are equipped to face new challenges and who can make a difference to their immediate society and world at large.

At Northfields, students in Years 10 and 11 study the a range of IGCSE subjects, sitting for final examinations at the end of Year 11. All students study English (First Language or ESL) and LIterature, French (First Language or Foreign Language), Mathematics, and a selection of 5 course options from the areas of Mathematics, Sciences, Humanities, Languages, Drama, IT, DT or Art.

Northfields students may also elect to complete the requirements for the Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE), which emphasises the value of broad and balanced study. To obtain the ICE award, students must pass at least 7 subjects, with at least one subject from each of the following subject groups:

  • Group I: Languages (minimum of 2 different languages)
  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Group III: Sciences
  • Group IV: Mathematics
  • Group V: Creative and Professional

For more information on Cambridge IGCSE, click here:

Senior School- Years 12 and 13

In the final two years of school, students have the choice to follow one of two academic programmes. Northfields currently offers the Cambridge International AS and A Level programmes as well as the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP).


Thousands of students worldwide gain places at leading universities every year with Cambridge International AS and A Levels. The syllabi develop a deep understanding of subjects and independent thinking skills. More importantly, the syllabi prepare students for university study, which is why universities worldwide value and recognise Cambridge International AS and A Level qualifications.

Cambridge International AS and A Level develops students’ knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • In-depth subject content
  • Independent thinking
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
  • Handling and evaluating different types of information source
  • Thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments
  • Making judgements, recommendations and decisions
  • Presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them logically and clearly

Northfields students may also elect to complete the requirements for the Cambridge Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE), an international curriculum and examinations system that emphasises the value of broad and balanced study. To obtain the AICE diploma, students must complete Global Perspectives and Research (a compulsory AS level course) and choose their remaining subjects from each of the following subject groups:

  • Group 1: Mathematics and Sciences
  • Group 2: Languages
  • Group 3: Arts and Humanities

For more information about International AS and A Levels, click here:


Organised by the International Baccalaureate Office based in Geneva, Switzerland, the International Baccalaureate (IB) is a very rigorous academic program which emphasises academic achievement, critical thinking, research skills and community service and community service. It has been operating world-wide for 50 years (since 1968) and is in place in almost 1500 schools in around 120 countries around the world.

The IB Diploma is very well regarded in virtually every country across the world. The IB Diploma Programme prepares students for university and encourages them to develop a variety of skills that are essential for functioning in a modern and ever evolving world. Students are encouraged to:

-ask challenging questions
-learn how to learn
-develop a strong sense of their own identity and culture
-develop the ability to communicate with and understand people from other countries and cultures

In order to be able to pursue the IB Diploma, students are required to follow courses in six subjects, with subject(s) taken from each of the following groups:

  • Group 1: Language A (literature and/or language)
  • Group 2: Language B (language of acquisition) or a second Language A
  • Group 3: Individuals and Societies
  • Group 4: Experimental Sciences
  • Group 5: Mathematics
  • Group 6: Arts (or another subject from one of the groups)

All IB Diploma students must choose three courses at Higher Level (HL) and three courses at Standard Level (SL). Each of the six group subjects is assessed both internally - with external moderation - and externally by examiners around the world and are graded on the IB 7-point scale. In addition, the IB Diploma Programme allows students to develop important critical thinking, research and interpersonal skills through the core requirements:  complete the IB Theory of Knowledge (ToK) course, write a 4,000-word Extended Essay and work collaboratively with peers though the Creativity, Action and Service (CAS) Programme.

For more information about the IB Diploma Programme, click here: